Dealing with feelings of being unequipped

A significant insight I have been developing over the past month is the balance between insecurity, and feeling like an expert. This insight was prompted by a day of much rumination last week, when we met with the CareerSeekers CEO for an overview of what has been done in South Australia so far. During this meeting I was struck by how knowledgable he was in his field, and how little I had to offer. I felt like he would be able to deliver what we were planning to deliver in a fraction of the time. Once starting to do the work, I realised I actually knew so much of the content. It related heavily to assignments I’ve done throughout my degree – as well as touched on things I have learnt from one of my favourite authors – Brené Brown. 

I feel that this insight is highly important in this field, as often development practitioners are required to work in communities and cultures that are different from their own. When treading in these areas, it is impossible to ever know the intricacies and customs as well as a local, regardless of how much preparation or research has been done. I feel that it is important to recognise this when working with others, being always ready to listen and learn, while at the same time having confidence in the experiences and knowledge that I have.

This will effect the way I approach development, by helping me to be mindful of balancing my willingness to learn with the knowledge and skills that I have. Mol (2002) pose the question: “How might complexities be handled in knowledge practices nonreductively, but without at the same time generating ever more complexities until we submerge in chaos?” If we go in as experts with all the answers, then with oversimplify the complexity of development, however if we do nothing, or disregard the skills and knowledges we do have, we may result in achieving nothing. How do we find the balance? 

Already I have seen this reflection to have impacted my work at CareerTrackers. Often I am so caught up in not wanting to pose as an expert, that I refrain from offering advise to the students who I work with. However since reflecting on the importance of finding a balance between recognition and inaction, I have been more open to sharing my experiences (after first listening), which at times have assisted students in making decisions.

Mol, A., 2002. Complexities: social studies of knowledge practices.

Leave a comment